Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Wilt Chamberlain, greatest ever?

If u watch basketball u know who he is. His name is featured on every record list , points, rebounds, etc. some career achievements include: 7 straight 50 point games twice, more than 4000 points in one season while averaging 50ppg, 55 rebounds in a game, the only person to make a double triple double, 22 ponts 25 rebounds 21 ists in one game, and how could anyone forget the 100 point-game. But sometimes i ask why he even had all those records in the first place. Every time there are greates ever talks it comes down to michael or kobe and thats pretty much it. soon it will be lebron vs kobe. Chamberlains stats are incredible compared to these guys. then only person who could challenge him is kobe with his four straight 50 point games, and the 81 point game. but has kobe averaged 23 rpg or even 50ppg? hell no. But even still with this amazing feats i never hear Wilt called the greatest player ever. Most people would have him in their top ten but never number 1. I think its because deep down we all know Wilt wouldnt have had those numbers if he wasnt playing in the 60s and 70s. Play was so different back then its like watching a high school game. A prime Wilt would have given fits to some centers today but hes not getting 25 rebounds while playing against shaq, hakeem, robinson, ewing, or dwight howard along with other great bigs. His numbers would drop substantially while playing in present day. Im not here to bash Wilt or anything like that but im just pointing out how big of a deal people make when talking about him. Why doesnt kobe score 50ppg? Because there are so many players out there to guard him. Wilt roamed free on the court with no one to stop him. What do u guys think is he the best player ever?

No comments:

Post a Comment